Surprise! The Hip-Hop & Love Tour

Posted on Updated on

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For weeks my friend had been telling me to keep Tuesday, October 18th free. But why? Were we finally going on that Duck tour we’d been talking about? Were we going to the circus? Will she finally take me to that sushi place she’s been raving about? Luckily, I like surprises and waited until the weekend before to ask a mutual friend what the hell was going on. We we going to a hip-hop concert! I was cool with not knowing the other details of that night by that point. I trusted her – I mean, she’s been working two feet from me for the past year and probably hears about every artist I’ve ever fallen in love with.

As my visiting friend and I wait for my other friends to arrive, the bouncer spills the beans, “Murs is playing tonight.” AHHHHHHH!!!! In classic form, I squeal and bounce around in utter excitement. BEST BELATED BDAY GIFT EVER!!!

I’d only recently stumbled across Murs via Pandora one day and immediately began exploring his music. Positive hip-hop. Something that’s missing from today’s urban culture scene. When I discovered him he was still rocking the naturally formed locs. By the time I saw him live, the bundles of joy had been cut before the release of the Love and Rockets, Volume 1: The Transformation album. Little did I know, Murs had been around for a while – his first solo album being released in 1997. Finally, years after being artist, he was finally crossing my path on a 46 stop tour across the US. Needless to say, I was freaking pumped to be at a Murs concert with a few of my closest friends.

The opening acts included  Murs, Tabi Bonney, Ski Beatz & the Senseis, McKenzie Eddy, Sean O`Connell, Da$h. All of them were quite talented, especially McKenzie Eddy, the only woman on the The Hip-Hop and Love tour. Personally, I wasn’t too impressed with some of the lyrics. No doubt I’m biased because of  my inappreciation for oppressive and degrading lyrics makes me cringe. Once Murs came on stage it was a wrap. Regardless of lyrics, the concert was great! I probably danced through the entire set. Murs performance was flawless, his delivery was better than the recorded version and he gave off great energy. My favorite was 316. I must say I was disappointed with the turn-out but that just meant I got to be at the edge of the stage with enough room to dance my ass off. Although I was bummed out I’d actually chosen to leave my good camera at home, I was able to snap a few pics with my awesome 3.2 megapixel camera (a joke) and record a few videos. I apologize for the crappy quality in advance, it’s difficult to enjoy a show and capture stunning quality at the same time. Enjoy!

Perhaps he’s coming to a city near you.

Leave a Reply

