Thrifting @ Buffalo Exchange, Allston

Posted on Updated on

My friend introduced me Buffalo Exchange when I first moved to Boston a year ago and ever since then I’ve been going back. It is my favorite thrift stores to shop at in Boston. It’s not as cheap as a Goodwill but that’s the difference between a consignment shop and place like Goodwill. Recently, while browsing the racks I came across a dress that I’d seen about a week ago hanging on the racks at H&M. Now, if you’re shopping at a thrift store you’re probably not just looking to find the same items you can get at any of the generic clothing stores, you’re looking for something a different. I’ve found some of my favorite summer clothing staples.

Floral print skirt w/ slip and ties
Black silk lace poncho
Classic summer staple - shorts!
Jewelry
Bicycle necklace and peace sign dog tags with peace sign and heart charms

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Shopping at BE has encouraged me to become a little more adventurous with my style. This is probably because I can try a new style without feeling like I’m making a huge investment into a new experiment. I’m not a small girl but I’m not a big one either and I can find a handful of things in my size.This is great because I usually have a hard time finding things for my body shape. I even found a favorite few favorite jewelry pieces from there as well.

Another reason why I can wholeheartedly support Buffalo Exchange other than the fact that it offers you quality attire but also a place that wants to serve a purpose. The two founders, still running the business from day to day, believe that Buffalo’s Exchange’s purpose is to:

…lead the resale fashion industry, provide a livelihood for its employees, a fair return to its owners and achieve sustainable profitability by:

  • Being the most beneficial place for its customers to buy, sell and trade new and recycled clothing
  • Having a rewarding workplace
  • Acting with integrity
  • Being self-righting
  • Functioning in a socially responsible manner
  • Promoting fun and enjoyment

You can’t go wrong with a company that wants to promote fun and enjoyment! As an added bonus, if you bring your own bag, you get to donate 5 cents to any of the 3 local profits they help to support. Shopping and supporting the public sector. Good stuff. I’ve taken many of my friends there and all of them can attest to the quality of choices offered at Buffalo Exchange and I think you should go there too!

Source: http://www.buffaloexchange.com/

Leave a Reply

