City of Brotherly Love

Posted on Updated on

City
City of Brotherly Love
 
 
 One of my stops on vacation was in Philly. I didn’t get to spend too much time, but I was able to check out Love Park thanks to a friend and a few other things.   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I had the chance to see a few of the amazingly detailed murals of Philly. Apart of the Mural Arts Program, is a program that engages the youths of Philly in the arts by providing them access with a  quality arts edcuation. “Mural Arts offers three distinct art education programs: Big Picture, serving youth ages 10-14; Mural Corps, a more intensive program serving teens ages 14-21; and ArtWorks!”
Murals are near and dear to my heart, and I completely respect the Mural Arts Program.

   Mural #4

 
 
If my friend didn’t point this bar out I would have probably missed it. The bar is located behind Sampan in downtown Philly. You can head down the alley beside the bar or walk through Sampan to get to it. Either way, it was a popular place for a Wednesday afternoon. My friend and I stopped by to have a quick beer before I headed to the suburbs of Philly. There wasn’t as much graffiti as I thought there was going to be, but the graffiti that was present was pretty cool. Graffiti artists A Lot, Rune and Distort Weirdly have left their mark at behind Sampan bar. There isn’t a website for the place, but it’s definatly a spot you could probably pregame at before a night in downton Philly. Warning, it is a wee bit expensive.
 
 

Located @:
1309 Sansom Street
Philadelphia, PA

2 thoughts on “City of Brotherly Love

    Lucy NT said:
    July 14, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    I saw Graffiti Bar last weekend. It looks catchy. I will check it out sometimes in the next two weeks

      Real World Newb responded:
      July 14, 2011 at 6:55 pm

      =) Great! Would love to hear what you think about it after your visit!

Leave a Reply

