Cyberarts Festival

Posted on Updated on

As is the case with most weekends,  I gave myself an order – “Go outside and explore somewhere new with your camera.” However, unlike most times, this adventure had a predetermined goal of attending the Boston Cyber Arts Festival. To be fair, I didn’t come up with this idea on my own. I hadn’t heard the concept of cyber arts until a friend and fellow consumer of the arts invited me to go with her and a group of friends. At the end of the day, I was happy I didn’t miss out. I’d say take a trip over to some studios and check it out what you can before new exhibits take the place of old ones.

Since the meet up started in Somerville we hopped the Redline downtown from Davis Square station to Broadway station and walked to Harrison Ave. You may want to consider taking a bus or taxi if the weather or the hike isn’t in your favor. I was able to check out 4+ gallery spaces in the span of a few hours.


Zimmerman and Cariens

First Stop:

@ Boston Sculptors GalleryAndy Zimmermann’s Where Am I? and Benjamin S. Cariens Repair, April 20 – May 22, 2011

Two words, loved it. The first installation, by Andy Zimmermann, was playful in a few ways. The combination of mirrors and sound in Zimmerman’s installation created a playful and reflective environment. While Benjamin Carinen’s exhibit exuded a more eerie atmosphere.  See more of my review here.

Jim Campbell

Second Stop:

@ Howard Yezerski Gallery – Jim Campbell’s Recent, April 22 – May 31st, 2011

I loved how Jim played with the shadows, technology, lights and camera. Jim definitely explored multiple mediums in his installation which allowed visitors to have different visual experiences. Read more about my experience here.


Paula Hunter

Last stop:

@ Mobius – Michele Darling & Terry Golob with vade, Sheila Gallagher, Dennis Hlynsky, Brian Kane, Ducnan Laurie, Rupert Nesbitt, and Erik Sanner, A Tool Is A Mirror, April 22nd – May 8th, 2011

There is so much I could say about the artists that were featured at the Mobius exhibition. Each artist combined different artistic mediums with technological facets. Whether the artists added additional sensory elements to their work or explored scientific technology there was much to see at Mobius. I reviewed my top installations here.

Overall what I like about the Cyberarts Festival was that it expanded my mind to a whole new form of artistic expression. Also important was that it was more than affordable, it was free! The people I met were open and engaging. And lastly, I could share it with a few good people on a lovely Saturday afternoon.


Leave a Reply

