Inked

Posted on Updated on

The permanence of a tattoo is what makes it fine art

Created for the enjoyment of myself and others

A form of self expression
Exempt from any and all formal criticisms
Similar to the paint covered brushes the painter uses to construct a beautiful rendition of the thoughts that traverse the crevasses of his brain
Similar to the ink the skilled artist uses to brand my skin for all time…
The painter leaves his mark … in history

The tremble of the needle against my bones
Calculated, permanent strokes on an easel
Choreographed, dances between artist and gun
My skin as the dance floor
The path the needle and the hands that grip it painfully sketch leads to my heart
The things that I treasure with every fiber of my being
Carefully mixed colors capture the essence of the mind’s eye

Leave a Reply

