>[AmeriCorps Ambassador of Mentoring Season 3 Episode 1]

Posted on Updated on

>

Boston Skyline

Wow, I can’t believe how quickly the past few weeks have flown by. It’s almost like someone just pressed the fast forward button on my life remote and I’m moving in double time. I’m realizing now that life in the real world moves pretty quickly. I feel like it was just yesterday I was gearing up to do the big move to Boston. After spending 4 years attending a small school, Juniata College, in Central, PA, living in a city again is quite a change. Luck for me, I was born and raised in NY so getting adjusted to city life again shouldn’t be too difficult; at least I hope so. As a person who looks forward to change and can adapt to new environments fairly easily, the transition has been pretty smooth. It’s taken the usual amount of time to learn a whole new transit system and I’m still working on getting around the city. Thanks to the internet I’ve been able to find my way around without getting too lost.

I started my first day of service in my new city on August 4th and have been busy ever since. I was thrown right into the mix, starting with preparing for the 2010-11 AmeriCorps Ambassador of Mentoring Orientation. I knew a little about my fellow Corps members before I met my Corps in person; but, not nearly as much as I was able to learn about them during our week of Orientation. I was excited to meet a whole new group of people who I would share my year of service with. We’re all different, some of us from different parts of MA, others have hometowns in other states; many of us come with so much experience and so much to offer. It was a pleasure to meet all of them in person and begin working with them.

We Play
while working

I’d say the year is off to a great start! We all clicked really well, it’s almost as though our paths had crossed on purpose. I had a good feeling about this year and it hasn’t failed me yet. The 15 of us have shared similar professional experiences and goals for the future. It’s great to be surrounded by positive energy and people who are just as passionate about making a difference in our community. I’m surprised yet comforted by the fact that so many different personalities can function and get along so well. You’d think after spending five days of eating, laughing, working, sharing our anxieties, and playing we’d all be at each other’s throats or unable to bare the sight of each other. But no, on the contrary, I think we all miss each other’s faces and can’t wait for the September Corps meeting.

Leave a Reply

